#NewRelease Shades of Brown by Cassietta Jefferson

About the AuthorJefferson

Cassietta Jefferson is a contemporary Christian author, publisher, editor, and blogger. She is the newest book reviewer for Prophetic Worship Intensive Christ Unit (PWICU); a faith based Radio and TV media platform. She is also the founder of Virtuous Ink Publishing LLC where she seeks to provide her readers with the best in contemporary Christian literature.

Cassietta earned her Bachelors of Applied Science in Business Administration from Wayland Baptist University and after traveling the country currently resides in Las Vegas Nevada. She is married to a proud retired United States Air Force Master Sergeant and together they have raised three children. Cassietta the youngest of ten siblings; seven older brothers and two older sisters who in addition to her wonderful parents help to shape her life.

In 2012, Cassietta published her first novel, Be Still & Know and published a novella, Timing is everything, the following year. Her latest book, Shades of Brown, is now available in print and ebook versions.

Author Cassietta, tell us about your book? shades_of_brown_cover

Shades of Brown is actually a combination of interwoven short stories that have been compiled into one book. It tells the story of four women who have managed to remain friends throughout the many twists and turns their life has taken. Where we meet these women in the book, they’re facing some challenges that manage to turn their lives upside down. Shades of Brown is not necessarily about the challenges, but more so about how they face those challenges.

How did you come up with ideas for this book?

I was at breakfast with a couple of my girlfriends here in Las Vegas, circa 2007 (there’s actually an acknowledgment to them in the book) and we were sharing and talking and laughing…all the things that girlfriends do when they get together. I remember having the thought, man, I wish I could bottle this [feeling, friendship, love] and keep with me. On the drive home I thought more about our friendship and thought, how fabulous my little circle of friends was. I started to consider how we were all different we all were in terms of our lives, the things we brought to the table, our physical appearances…how we were all different “shades of brown” yet we managed to gel. I didn’t use any of our specific issues for the purposes of the book, but I did use the way we handled our issues. How we shared them, prayed for each other, offered advice and council; I took all of that and Shades of Brown was born.

What was the most difficult aspect of writing this book?

The stories on their own came pretty naturally; what I found difficult was intertwining them and making them connect.

Why do you write? Is it something you’ve always done, or always wanted to do? Or is it something that you started fairly recently?

Its something Ive always done; I can remember crafting stories as far back as middle school, but I never thought I was good enough to ever be an author. I had stacks of books in my room that I would read over and over again and I always wanted to see my name on the cover of a book that people love and want to read over and over again. I never thought it would happen so I didnt take it seriouslyI even threw away my note book when someone found it in high school and made fun of it. I just picked up my pen again, so to speak, about 15 years ago while I was living in Texas.

Who are your favorite authors?

Oh, so many! Lets see, my absolute favorite is the late Francis Ray. She inspired me so much with her classy, classic style of writing and just her amazing story telling. I love also Jodi Picoult; I just discoveredher a few years ago and I love her work. I also love Walter Mosley, James Patterson, Brenda Jackson, Nora Roberts, Eric Jerome Dickey. I also have a couple of Indie favorites like Dominique Wilkins, Tabitha Vinson, and Tamika Sims to name just a few. Looking at this list you can tell how eclectic my book shelf is, but I love reading almost as much as I love writing and so I read a little bit of everything.

What valuable lessons do you want readers to learn from your book?

The focus of this book and message behind all of the stories here is that whatever youre facing, you can get through it. It may be hard and even seem impossible, but with God all things are possible; thats the ultimate message. I learned a long time ago to take everything to God in prayer, so when Im faced with a problem or something Im not sure what to do with, I pray and talk to God about it. I wanted to pass along that advice through the pages of this book.

Any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Keep working on your craft and never give up your dream!

Order Shades of Brown

Amazon ebook

Amazon paperback

To view more of this tour, visit the schedule online at Author Tour Schedule: http://wnlbooktours.com/cassietta-jefferson/

To view more of this tour, visit the schedule online at Author Tour Schedule: http://wnlbooktours.com/cassietta-jefferson/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #NewRelease Shades of Brown by Cassietta Jefferson

  1. Sheila says:

    Fantastic interview! I feel so blessed to be on this journey with this Amazing Author Cassietta Jefferson. I own all 3 of her books and she always leaves me anticipating the next release. I can read her books over and over and each time feels like the first and even though I know what’s on the page to follow, it’s still exciting. An Absolute Awesome Talent! What makes her so fascinating to me is that she has that page turning ability and at the same time has managed to keep it spiritually respectable. Awesome. GOD has truly blest this talented young woman.

    Like

  2. Cassietta you’re an Inspiration! May God Bless & continuously Keep you on your journey! And may all you touch be Blessed. Hugs & Much Love Sis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

