#NewRelease Giveaway ‘Whose Apple is it, Anyway!’ by Linda F. Williams

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Educator | Author | Life & Empowerment Coach | Motivational Speaker

Founder and CEO of Whose Apple Empowerment Center, Linda F. Williams has a Bachelor’s in Organizational Leadership from Calvin College; a Masters of Social Work (Clinical/Macro) from Western Michigan University; and Graduate Certification in Substance and Alcohol Abuse. She is a doctoral candidate at The Harold Abel School of Social and Behavioral Sciences at Capella University. She is also a former Professor of Human Service at the University of Phoenix.

Ms. Williams’ clinical philosophy holistically combines psychological, physiological, and spiritual implications of the Proverb that says that as a man thinks, so is that man. She has the insight to recognize how traumatic histories and other painful experiences lead to self-defeating behaviors that can mutate our God-given character traits; and immobilize purpose by locking down our talents, skills, and abilities.

Linda is also author of Whose Apple Is It Anyway.

Linda, tell us about your book?

Whose Apple is it, Anyway! reveals how traumatic and hurtful experiences can sidetrack our purpose, mission and destiny without our even knowing it. As we move through life and internalize hurtful experiences, it morphs our God-given characters into complete opposites of who we must be to meet our reason for living and realize destiny.

How did you come up with idea for this book?

About five years into the book, I hired Nancy Peske as a writing coach.  One thirty minute session with her and I am still implementing her To-Do List. As a New York Times best-selling author multiple times over, she provided guidance on structuring the book and suggested I shorten the title. She advised me to come up with a hook or catch phrase that captured the book’s premise.  She also advised that I search the Internet for my shortened title.

Originally, the book was called It Ain’t All About Eve and it Ain’t Adam’s Apple.  As I searched the Internet, I ran across this story:

One day an old man was relaxing peacefully beneath a tree when an irate man walked up and started chewing him out for being a beggar. I mean the man called him everything under the sun until he realized he was receiving no reaction.

Finally, frustrated with getting no response, he fumed, “How can you sit there so calmly while I’m yelling at you? Didn’t you hear what I said?”

Reaching into his begging basket, the old man pulled out an apple. Holding it out to the angry man, he answered with this question: “If I have an apple, and I give it to you, but you don’t take it, whose apple is it?”

The angry man answered, “Well it’s yours of course,” to which the old man replied, “You offer me insults and anger and I choose not to take it; so the insults and anger are yours, not mine.”

This story is about Buddha, but it is a slam-dunk for the Whose Apple philosophy. It demonstrates how only we control our inner emotions, as opposed to others controlling them. We can choose to internalize negative experiences or we can leverage them. The choice between the two determines whether we remain victims of our experiences or become victors over them!

We can choose how we react to situations or circumstances. Our responses to them either empower or destroy our futures. If not aligned with purpose, calling, and mission, our behaviors can short-circuit destiny by locking down our purpose, mission, and vision.

What was the most difficult aspect of writing this book?

Aside from being eternally outline-challenged, it was difficult moving through the healing process. This was a healing journey as the book moved along only as I move through layers of healing.  The book has an opening quote that says,

The Path of Purpose is paved with healing. Healing goes as deep as the wound or as deep as you let it.

This healing cut deeply. It revealed undisclosed areas I had long-since thought I had overcome. There were times that, no matter how hard I tried to write, the words had no power. They fell like little anvils almost as quickly as they hit the page. I learned early on not to force this process. Each of those times was the result of spiritual blockages. There was even a time that life circumstances had me at the end of my rope. I finally cried out to God that I just could not do it anymore. I was fed up and tired; on all possible levels.  I felt such a palpable oppression. I was one appointment away from a stay in the local mental health facility. I was an emotional and spiritual wreck.  When I, finally, got honest with God and admitted that I just had nothing left, I felt Him utter three profound and indelible words, “I’ve got this!” Those three words meant deliverance for me. They told me that I did not have to do life alone; that His grace and power were my rear-guard, that I never have to be alone in any challenge.  Boy, I shouted all the way through the house, up two flights of stairs and back again. The breakthrough was overpowering.  I went back to working on the manuscript.

What valuable lessons do you want readers to learn from your book?

Three things:

  • Stolen focus – stolen vision
  • Stolen vision – stolen purpose
  • Stolen purpose – stolen destiny

The enemy has a single strategy: stolen focus. Period. Every hurtful and traumatic experience, every disappointment, takes us off-focus and off destiny’s course. Whose Apple is it, Anyway! provides two powerful tools to root out this destiny-destroying tactic and leverage those experiences toward mission, purpose and destiny.

Who are your favorite authors?

I have no favorite authors but I appreciate inspirational truths. Joyce Meyer took me through some very difficult times. Her personality and mine are so similar. Because of her transparency and ministry, I finally accepted that my biggest problem was myself.  I will always be grateful for Joyce.

What book(s) are you reading now?

Textbooks are all I have time to read. I am currently working on my doctorate. As I move into my dissertation, I am doing a lot of scholarly research on women in the criminal justice system and their reentry to society.  I love my Bible, though. Nothing takes a back seat to that.

What books have most influenced your life?

The very first book I ever read was Helen Keller. Growing up, my father used to give me books like, The Spook that Sat by the Door and Before the Mayflower. It has been some time since I have had a lot of time to read for pleasure. The latest book to have a profound effect on my life is Think and Grow Rich because it taught me the importance of surrounding myself with positive people who know more than I do about the publishing businesses, the need for a mastermind alliance and the importance of focus on the goal. It is because of that  book that I hired a writing coach. The last two years of writing the manuscript were the most productive because of that decision.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Nancy Peske and Mary Hollingsworth. Nancy, because she has a consistent track record as an author and ghost writer. She has multiple books on the market that are best sellers. The publishing business is what she lives and breathes. She provided solid guidance.

Mary Hollingsworth has multiple best-sellers. She provided major guidance in this process.  She gave me the idea for the book’s subtitle, edited it and has remained an inspiration in the final stages of the project.  Both of these women are major players in their genres.

Why do you write?

I have always had the gift of communication. I wrote poetry and songs as a teenager, participated in the high school drama club, and went to state in the Forensic Speech competition. All of that was because our Speech teacher, Ms. Barbara Burmiester, suggested that I get involved. Yet, writing a book was not an aspiration.  It was not on any list of what I wanted to accomplish on earth.

However, on one of my darkest days my mother called to tell me that it was not about me. She it was about all the people who would be free because of what I was going through. She said I would write a book and go on the conference speaking circuit. I did not want to hear it.  Fast forward some ten years later to a December 17, 2005 phone call from my sister, Susan Williams.  “Linda, you’re going to write a book.”

Seven years and six days later the last dot and tittle went onto the page.  That was over two years ago. I still had more living and learning to do before this mission could move forward.  Susan said the book would progress only as I moved through the healing process; truer words were never spoken.

Any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Stay true to your vision, hire a writing coach, follow their advice and do it with excellence!

Whose Apple is it anyway frnt cover

Amazon Buy Link: http://amzn.com/B00S38J1WO Amazon Paperback Link: http://amzn.com/0692391797 Lulu Hardcover: http://t.co/Nps7ylycK3

ABOUT THE BOOK

Whose Apple is it Anyway! is a profound voyage along a trail of tears and heartbreak; laughter and triumph, in the author’s own journey to wholeness and healing. The book’s rubber-meets-the-road perspective provides practical-applications, guidance, and real-life examples of how to recognize, root out, and overcome the hindrances that keep us unmercifully chained to the past. #WhoseAppleIsItAnyway

Get your copy today: Whose Apple is it, Anyway!: Empowering Purpose to Achieve your God-Ordained Destiny by Linda F. Williams

Amazon-Paperback Link: http://amzn.com/0692391797

Amazon-Kindle Link: http://amzn.com/B00S38J1WO

Lulu Hardcover: http://t.co/Nps7ylycK3

Enter for a chance to win Book Launch Give Away – Whose Apple is it, Anyway!

Book Review

If you have read the book, please we do encourage posting book reviews on Amazon.com and other online bookstores.

Whose Apple is it anyway flyer us1

Let’s Get Social! Connect with Bestselling Author Linda F. Williams online at:

For Bookings/Press Please Contact:

Lá Tanyha Boyd, Publicist-PR
FAB Marketing @FaithAbeliever
faithinorder@yahoo.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #NewRelease Giveaway ‘Whose Apple is it, Anyway!’ by Linda F. Williams

  1. Pingback: #NewRelease Giveaway ‘Whose Apple is it, Anyway!’ by Linda F. Williams | Whose Apple Empowerment Center

Leave a Reply

