#NewRelease Children’s Book “African American Leaders from A to Z,” by Dr. Andrea Berry

Dr. Andrea HSABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bestselling Author | Educator | Mentor | Speaker

Dr. Andrea Berry currently serves as an instructional Supervisor of Equity, Diversity, Special Programs, and English Language Learners on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Dr. Berry-Opher is an educator with 19 years of experience in a variety of capacities such as teacher, assistant principal, principal, district level supervisor, adjunct college professor, presenter, etc.

Dr. Berry is a proven collaborative administrator who demonstrates expertise in empowering teaching staffs, successful implementation of professional learning communities through book studies and action research, influencing cultural diversity awareness, and providing high quality teacher professional development. She enjoys working with children and their families. One of her near and dear projects is facilitating the Dads Aimed and Determined to Support (D.A.D.S.) parenting classes, a partnership between the Office of Minority Achievement and the Department of Social Services.

In the journey of life, Dr. Berry strives to make educating youth a smooth process. She advocates, mentors, collaborates, celebrates and works tirelessly to help what one of her mentors calls, “Our Most Valuable Resource, CHILDREN.”

Dr. Berry, tell us about your book?

My book is a children’s informational text purposed to expose young children to African American leader of the past and present. As educators, it is important to have a variety of appropriate material to teach children about their heritage and about diverse history. This book captures less infamous leaders and exposes children to their contributions in a simple, concise, yet familiar manner, the alphabet.

How did you come up with idea for this book?

As an educator, I am always looking for text to help teach about African American History. I could never find anything age appropriate for younger children that would meet their needs so I wrote a book to expose children to African American Leaders of the past and present.

What was the most difficult aspect of writing this book?

Writing children’s books is multifaceted. Illustrations has been by far the most difficult aspect of my writing. I am always afraid that I will struggle to explain my vision for my words.

Why do you write?

Writing is an opportunity to tell the stories of my heart, my life, and my family. It is therapeutic for me. It is also my way to share with the world life through the eyes of my family and I.

What valuable lessons do you want readers to learn from your book?

It is my hope that each of my books creates opportunities for testimony for others. I aspire to motivate, educate, and empower children. After reading my books children and their parents should no that success is visible and opportunities are limitless.

Who are your favorite authors?

I do not have a favorite author but I enjoy self-help books and motivational stories. One of my favorite things to do is sit on the floor in the middle of a library and/or bookstore and find a story that speaks to me.

What book(s) are you reading now?

Currently, I am reading,

How Successful People Think: Change Your Thinking, Change Your Life      by John C. Maxwell

It is helping me to prioritize and put things into perspective.  I have always been very motivated and driven to put my best foot forward but this book intensifies the desire to do well and be positive.

What books have most influenced your life?

I am influenced by many different book genres. I would say books where people succeed against the odds are most influential. Biographies, true stories are autobiographies always grasp my attention and keep me motivated.

Any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Follow your dreams and listen to your inner thoughts. When ideas surface, use them as a platform to tell your story.  If something is motivating you, be diligent in following it through. Everyone loves a GREAT story. I had a spiritual advisor that once said to me, your TEST could one day become someone else’s TESTIMONY.

Get your copy today:   African American Leaders from A to Z: People Who Should Bring out the Leader in You and Me by Dr. Andrea Berry  Link: http://amzn.com/B00WKW2YSC

Get your copy today:
African American Leaders from A to Z: People Who Should Bring out the Leader in You and Me by Dr. Andrea Berry Link: http://amzn.com/B00WKW2YSC

ABOUT THE BOOK

A vital stitch in the education of a child is their knowledge base about heritage. Although we pay tribute to African American History in the month of February, it is imperative for students to see the impact role models of color have on their daily life and existence year round. Providing exposure to the unsung African American leaders in our country is the ultimate educational gift to children and my humble attempt to recognize greatness in the African American community. It is my hope that this text brings African American greatness to life at a level our elementary age youngsters can relate to and understand. It is also my hope that this book celebrates people who children do not usual learn about in their day-to-day experiences and gives them the opportunity to appreciate African American greatness of the past and present.  #AfricanAmericanLeaders

Get your copy today:

African American Leaders from A to Z: People Who Should Bring out the Leader in You and Me by Dr. Andrea Berry  Link: http://amzn.com/B00WKW2YSC

Book Review If you have read the book, please we do encourage posting book reviews on Amazon.com and other online bookstores.

Dr Andrea Berry nw us FAB BANNER

Let’s Get Social! Connect with Bestselling Author Dr. Andrea Berry online at:

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/andreaberryopher?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

https://www.facebook.com/andrea.berry.10

Website: www.andreaberryopher.com

Twitter: @DrAndreaBerry

Hash-Tag: #AfricanAmericanLeaders

Amazon Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Dr-Andrea-Berry-Opher/e/B00NBSR49I/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

For Bookings/Press Please Contact:

Lá Tanyha Boyd, 
Faith Abeliever Publicist-PR – @LaTBoyd1
FAB Marketing- @FaithAbeliever
faithinorder@yahoo.com 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

