#RockYourBook ‘Unborn,’ & ‘She Speaks by Bestselling Author Safiyah Givens

safyah-givensABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author | Artist | Leader | Poet | Youth Ministry | Media

Safiyah Givens is a passionate young lady who loves the Lord. At the age of 27 when she decided to follow Christ, God made her aware of a writing gift she didn’t know she had. Soon after she accepted her calling she started writing her first book of poetry which was release in 2014 called “She Speaks.” Since writing her first book she has released a spoken word CD “The Key” in 2014 and her newest release which is a novella called “Unborn.” Safiyah has also hosted open mic events, volunteered for Interfaith hospitality Network, received a certification for volunteering at Hospice Compassionate Care, and received certificates for recognition of authorship. She has a bachelor’s degree in Behavioral Analysis of Psychology, serves in the youth and media ministry, and  “She Speaks” book has been featured in iMatter magazine. She is currently raising two beautiful children and looking forward to putting out future projects.

Safiya, tell us about your books?

She Speaks is a book of poetry on bits and pieces of my life. She Speaks also have poems of encouragement and speaking on matters others are afraid to say. Unborn is a book based on a true story about the time I went through an abortion.

Because She Speaks was my first book I really didn’t know what direction I was going with it until I conversed with my publisher at the time. As we talk, she helped me bring some clarity with the direction I was headed with the book. When I looked over all I have written, the title She Speaks came to mind.

How did you come up with ideas for these books?

The title represents me finally speaking up for things that mattered to me. I’m no longer this quiet girl who has nothing to say. My voice matters. It was like I finally came out and spoke up. The book overall was God inspired. He wanted me to write and there came a desire to give hope to others.

Unborn was God inspired as well. With this book came the idea of a spoken word piece at first but then I turned the idea to telling the story in more detail. I wanted to let others know through this book that with the act of abortion you can be forgiven and hopefully turn the hearts of those who are thinking about committing the act.

What was the most difficult aspect of writing this book?

For both books the hardest aspect of writing them was the nagging voice inside my head saying to quit, the fear of thinking no one will care about what I have written, and the worry of hurting someone close to me because I decided to tell my side of the story. As you can see I overcame them all.

Why do you write?

The reason I write is because if I don’t I will be doing an injustice of my calling and losing souls who may come to Christ through me.

What valuable lessons do you want readers to learn from your book?

The valuable lessons I would want readers to take away from my books is that they matter as individuals, their story matter, and that they can overcome any given situation. Ultimately I want them to know Christ is the way to go.

Who are your favorite authors?

I am an avid reader so choosing my favorite author is kind of hard, but if I was to choose I would say T.D. Jakes, C.S. Lewis, and Joyce Meyers. The writers of spokenword and poetry would be Jackie Hill Perry, Preston Perry, Maya Angelou, Ezekiel Azonwu, and Janette…Ikz.

What book(s) are you reading now?

Because I am an avid reader I read a variety of books sometimes at the same time, but one book that I am currently reading for bible study at church though is Life Interrupted by Priscilla Shirer.

What books have most influenced your life?

The books that most influenced my life would be of course the bible, most of T.D. Jakes books, and the latest book Purpose Awakening by Toure’ Roberts. There’s more but too many to name. Some of these books inspire me to write my own book similar to what I have read which is something I’m currently working on. I’m hoping once my third book is done that it will put a fire in the reader’s hearts to never give up and to keep on pressing.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

If I had to choose a writer or writers as a mentor I would say all four of the poets I have mentioned above and T.D. Jakes.

Any advice to give to aspiring writers?

The advice I would give to aspiring writers is to never give up. There will be distractions, doubt, and fear but that should not keep you from blessing others; those things should be an indication to push yourself to write even more. I had said recently in a blog post that it’s not about us. Someone needs to hear our stories and you never know, we may be able to save a life in the process.

she-speaksABOUT THE BOOK

Labor pains have increased tremendously with unforgiveness, shame, insecurities, and so forth. Time and time again wondering when the time comes to deliver the miracle of release. The release has come. Her truth has set her free. Testimonies no longer live in the dark. Being a voice to those whose pain is on mute. Lighting a fire to your soul. These are the pieces of poetry that this book holds. May you capture every emotion that leaps off the page and let it sink deep into the longing of speaking your truth as her longing increased into She Speaks.

Get your copy today:  She Speaks by Safiyah Givens Link: https://amzn.com/0972860193

Here’s What Other’s Are Saying!

 She Speaks really spoke to me!,

This book is deep, heart touching and it really lets you know that you are not alone! God bless Safiyah Givens. If you haven’t got this book, GO GET IT!

Five Stars,

This a good book can’t wait for next book of poetry, full of inspiration, touching, heartfelt.

Book Review: If you have read the book, we encourage posting book reviews on Amazon.com and other online bookstores.

unborn2ABOUT THE BOOK

Unborn tells a story of a young girl who’s way was lost. Decisions were made out of immaturity and not enough wise counsel had been received. Going through the motions of life was all it was. To disregard life haphazardly not only affected her life but others as well. There was always a feeling of “there has to be something more”. Unfortunately, seeking for more was done the wrong way. Amazingly, somewhere in the midst of the storms (outward and inward), strength and a drive to want better arose. The only way she was able to find it was from the one who gave it to her, Jesus.

Get your copy today: Unborn by Safiyah Givens Link: http://a.co/cclbrHb

Here’s What Other’s Are Saying!

Finished “Unborn” I must say it was a very good read. I enjoyed it very much it allowed me to see your pain, your struggles and your emotions thru every word. I’m proud of you Safiyah. May God continue to bless you and I’m waiting for the next book. True Inspiration to young women all over ~Jose Cruz

Book Review: If you have read the book, we encourage posting book reviews on Amazon.com and other online bookstores.

safiyah-givens-cs-fab-book-banner-nwLet’s Get Social! Connect with Bestselling Author SAFIYAH GIVENS

AUTHOR. ARTIST. LEADER. Poet

Follow me on Facebook: SAFIYAH GIVENS

Bestselling Author |ARTIST|LEADER|Poet

Website: www.missgivens.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorsafiyahgivens/  (fan page)

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/safiyah_givens @safiyah_givens

Hash-Tag: #SheSpeaks #Unborn

Email: safgivens@aol.com

Get your Kindle Copy Autograph: https://www.authorgraph.com/authors/safiyah_givens

Safiyah Givens (Author)› Visit Amazon’s Safiyah Givens Page

For Bookings/Press Please Contact:

LáTanyha Boyd,
Rock Your Book Publicist-PR
Rock Your Book Marketing/Branding
faithinorder@yahoo.com @RockYourBook1 @LaTBoyd1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #RockYourBook ‘Unborn,’ & ‘She Speaks by Bestselling Author Safiyah Givens

  1. Thank you for having me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

